Full Form of DST : Department of Science & Technology

What is the full form of DST ?

No:1. DST stands for Department of Science & Technology.
No:2. It is a department that belongs to the Ministry of Science and Technology in India.
No:3. It was established on 3 May 1971 to promote new areas of Science and Technology and to act as a nodal department for organizing, coordinating and promoting Science & Technology activities in the country.

No.-1. Download 15000 One Liner Question Answers PDF

No.-2. Free Download 25000 MCQ Question Answers PDF

No.-3. Complete Static GK with Video MCQ Quiz PDF Download

No.-4. Download 1800+ Exam Wise Mock Test PDF

No.-5. Exam Wise Complete PDF Notes According Syllabus

No.-6. Last One Year Current Affairs PDF Download

No.-7. Join Our Whatsapp Group

No.-8. Join Our Telegram Group

Tasks of DST

DST performs various tasks related to specific projects and programmes, some of which are as follows :
No:1. Formulates the policies related to Science and Technology.
No:2. Handles matters related to the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Cabinet (SACC).
No:3. Promotes the new areas of Science and Technology with special emphasis on emerging areas like bio-fuel production, processing, and applications and utilization of by-products to produce value added chemicals.
No:4. Coordinates the areas of Science and Technology having cross-sectoral linkages.
No:5. Undertakes or financially sponsors scientific and technological surveys, research and development.
No:6. Manages and coordinates Management Information System for Science and Technology.
No:7. Promotes Science and Technology at the State, District and Village levels through State Science and Technology Councils and related mechanisms.
No:8. Develops applications of Science and Technology for women and weaker or disadvantaged sections of the society.

More about DST

No:1. DST introduced various streams which later established themselves as departments or even ministries with focused goals and objectives.
No:2. Some of these streams are the Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR), Ministry of Environment and Forests (MoEF), Ministry of New & Renewable Energy (MNRE), Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES), and Department of Electronics (DoE).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top