List of Union Territories and their Capitals of India

No:1. INDIA is a country in southern Asia.

No:2. With over 1.3 billion people, India is the second most populous country in the world after China.

No:3. It is a federal constitutional republic governed under a parliamentary system consisting of 28 states and 8 union territories.

No:4. All states, as well as the union territories of Jammu and Kashmir, Puducherry and the National Capital Territory of Delhi, have elected legislatures and governments, both patterned on the Westminster model.

No:5. The remaining five union territories are directly ruled by the central government through appointed administrators.

No:6. In 1956, under the States Reorganisation Act, states were reorganised on a linguistic basis.

No:7. Since then, their structure has remained largely unchanged. Each state or union territory is further divided into administrative districts.

No:8. The legislatures of five states Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra and Uttarakhand and of union territory Jammu and Kashmir meet in different capitals for their summer and winter sessions.

No:9. Ladakh has both Leh and Kargil as its administrative capitals.

No:10. The state and union territory capitals are sorted according to administrative, legislative and judicial capitals.

No:11. The administrative capital is where the executive government offices are located.

Union Territories and their Capitals

Union Territories Capitals Area
1. Ladakh Leh and Kargil 59,146 km²
2. Delhi (National Capital Territory) Delhi 1,484 km²
3. Chandigarh Chandigarh 114 km²
4. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman 603 km²
5. Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar (In Summer) and Jammu (In Winter) 222,236 km²
6. Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 8,250 km²
7. Puducherry (Pondicherry) Pondicherry 483 km²
8. Lakshadweep Kavaratti 32.62 km²


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top