Winners of Man Booker Prize

Winners of Man Booker Prize
Winners of Man Booker Prize

Winners of Man Booker Prize:- The Man Booker Prize was established in the year 1969 is considered the second highest prize after Nobel in the field of literature. The winner receives £50,000, while each of the shortlisted authors is awarded £2,500. The Booker Prize has now become the ‘Man Booker Award’ since 2002, due to the Booker prize sponsorship of the Man Group.

It is Britain’s highest literary award. It is given in full English language and the United Kingdom (UK) novel. The award can be given to a novel written by the author of any country. This award is presented annually.

Man Booker Prize 2020: Scottish writer Douglas Stuart, whose debut novel ‘Shuggie Bain’ described a boy growing up in Glasgow in the 1980s with a mother battling addiction, has won the 2020 Booker Prize. Stuart, 44, won the £50,000 prize.

The Complete List of Winners of the Man Booker Prize

No.-55. 2020 : Douglas Stuart, USA (Shuggie Bain – Novel)

No.-54. 2019 : Margaret Atwood, Canada (The Testaments – Novel) and Bernardine Evaristo, United Kingdom (Girl, Woman, Other – Experimental Novel)

No.-53. 2018 : Anna Burns, Northern Ireland (Milkman – Novel)

No.-52. 2017 : George Saunders, USA (Lincoln in the Bardo – Novel)

No.-51. 2016 : Paul Beatty, USA (The Sellout – Comic Novel)

No.-50. 2015 : Marlon James, Jamaica (A Brief History of Seven Killings – Novel)

No.-49. 2014 : Richard Flanagan, Australia (The Narrow Road to the Deep North – Historical Novel)

No.-48. 2013 : Eleanor Catton (Born-New Zealand), Canada (The Luminaries – Historical novel)

No.-47. 2012 : Hilary Mantel, United Kingdom (Bring Up the Bodies – Historical novel)

No.-46. 2011 : Julian Barnes, United Kingdom (The Sense of an Ending – Novel)

Man Booker Prize 2020

No.-45. 2010 : Howard Jacobson, United Kingdom (The Finkler Question – Comic novel)

No.-44. 2009 : Hilary Mantel, United Kingdom (Wolf Hall – Historical novel)

No.-43. 2008 : Aravind Adiga, India (The White Tiger – Novel)

No.-42. 2007 : Anne Enright, Ireland (The Gathering – Novel)

No.-41. 2006 : Kiran Desai, India (The Inheritance of Loss – Novel)

No.-40. 2005 : John Banville, Ireland (The Sea – Novel)

No.-39. 2004 : Alan Hollinghurst, United Kingdom (The Line of Beauty – Historical novel)

No.-38. 2003 : DBC Pierre, Australia (Vernon God Little – Black comedy)

No.-37. 2002 : Yann Martel, Canada (Life of Pi – Fantasy and adventure novel)

No.-36. 2001 : Peter Carey, Australia (True History of the Kelly Gang – Historical novel)

No.-35. 2000 : Margaret Atwood, Canada (The Blind Assassin – Historical novel)

No.-34. 1999 : J. M. Coetzee, South Africa (Disgrace – Novel)

No.-33. 1998 : Ian McEwan, United Kingdom (Amsterdam – Novel)

No.-32. 1997 : Arundhati Roy, India (The God of Small Things – Novel)

No.-31. 1996 : Graham Swift, United Kingdom (Last Orders – Novel)

No.-30. 1995 : Pat Barker, United Kingdom (The Ghost Road – War novel)

No.-29. 1994 : James Kelman, United Kingdom (How Late It Was, How Late – Stream of consciousness)

No.-28. 1993 : Roddy Doyle, Ireland (Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha – Novel)

No.-27. 1992 : Michael Ondaatje, Canada (The English Patient – Historiographic metafiction)

No.-26. 1992 : Barry Unsworth, United Kingdom (Sacred Hunger – Historical novel)

No.-25. 1991 : Ben Okri, Nigeria (The Famished Road – Magic realism)

No.-24. 1990 : A. S. Byatt, United Kingdom (Possession – Historical novel)

No.-23. 1989 : Kazuo Ishiguro, United Kingdom (The Remains of the Day – Historical novel)

List of Winners of Man Booker Prize

No.-22. 1988 : Peter Carey, Australia (Oscar and Lucinda – Historical Novel)

No.-21. 1987 : Penelope Lively, United Kingdom (Moon Tiger – Novel)

No.-20. 1986 : Kingsley Amis, United Kingdom (The Old Devils – Comic novel)

No.-19. 1985 : Keri Hulme, New Zealand (The Bone People – Mystery novel)

No.-18. 1984 : Anita Brookner, United Kingdom (Hotel du Lac – Novel)

No.-17. 1983 : J. M. Coetzee, South Africa (Life and Times of Michael K- Novel) South Africa

No.-16. 1982 : Thomas Keneally, Australia (Schindler’s Ark – Biographical novel)

No.-15. 1981 : Salman Rushdie, United Kingdom (Midnight’s Children – Magic realism)

No.-14. 1980 : William Golding, United Kingdom Rites of Passage – Novel)

No.-13. 1979 : Penelope Fitzgerald, United Kingdom (Offshore – Novel)

No.-12. 1978 : Iris Murdoch (Born-United Kingdom), Ireland (The Sea, the Sea – Philosophical novel)

No.-11. 1977 : Paul Scott, United Kingdom (Staying On – Novel)

No.-10. 1976 : David Storey, United Kingdom (Saville – Novel)

No.-9. 1975 : Ruth Prawer Jhabvala (Born-Germany), United Kingdom (Heat and Dust – Historical novel)

No.-8. 1974 : Nadine Gordimer, South Africa (The Conservationist – Novel)

No.-7. 1974 : Stanley Middleton, United Kingdom (Holiday – Novel)

No.-6. 1973 : J. G. Farrell (Born-Ireland), United Kingdom (The Siege of Krishnapur – Novel)

No.-5. 1972 : John Berger, United Kingdom (G. – Experimental novel)

No.-4. 1971 : V. S. Naipaul (Born- Trinidad and Tobago), United Kingdom (In a Free State – Short story)

No.-3. 1970 : J. G. Farrell(Born- Ireland), United Kingdom (Troubles – Novel)

No.-2. 1970 : Bernice Rubens, United Kingdom (The Elected Member – Novel)

No.-1. 1969 : P. H. Newby, United Kingdom (Something to Answer For – Novel)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.